top of page
Search

Influences

Updated: Apr 8, 2022

Many artists influence my art practice, for some artists it could be their concept, for others it could be the way they present their work. I always keep different inspirations in mind when I am creating work. Even though my art takes influence from different resources, I always aim to own my art by creating something different.


My Iranian roots also play an important role in my art. I adore and appreciate Iranian artists who create work that criticizes the Iranian government.

Parastou Forouhar is an Iranian artist who criticizes the Iranian government with the use of her art installations. The loss of both of her parents due to war crimes motivates her to bring justice and awareness with her art.


Forouhar created the Documentation installation that contains all the events that took place that ended up in the assassination of her parents. She provokes the audience's feelings by showing them evidence, her method makes the audience understand her pain and frustration.


She has also created work that highlights Iranian government's poor picture of "women" in society as shown in Swanrider. She creates this work to protest against the government's ideologies regarding the role of women in society.

I value her use of contrast, symbolism, and metaphor in her works.


Documentation Swanrider


My appreciation of activist art comes from my interest in challenging political and social structures by addressing the issues and the corruptions that take place within them. As an artist, my aim is to provoke certain emotions in the audience, to make them rethink their actions that unconsciously contributes to the downfall of humanity.


Davide Bonazzi's work inspires me to create art that makes people think. His though provoking art contains very clear messages to the audience.


Some examples:


Unity is Strength The Legacy of Violence Save the Arctic


My project's title, Burning Earth has taken influence from the installations of David Buckland. Buckland's farewell project is very interesting to observe.



in terms of presentation of my work, I have been inspired by the works of Teamlab. Teamlab contains a collective of artists, programmers and animators who create beautiful and colorful interactive spaces.






27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page